NEWS

 For press information, or high-rez digital image files, please contact:

Glenn Abrams

Kids-Did-It! Propertiesª
911 Armada Terrace
San Diego, CA 92106

619 523-5277
g a b r a m s @ k i d s d i d i t . c o m
www.kidsdidit.com

 





Michelle and Glenn Abrams
San Diego cookbook authors, Glenn and Michelle Abrams, will join other artists and authors at the La Jolla Art and Wine Festival fundraiser on Saturday October 9th at 11:30am to demonstrate cookie recipes and sign their new Kids-Did-It! Cookie Bookie cookbook featuring tasty recipes deliciously illustrated by Michelle’s young art students.

 

Local Arts Community Supports Kids at La Jolla Art & Wine Festival


SAN DIEGO, CA Warwick’s, La Jolla’s landmark independent book and gift store, in support of this year’s 2nd annual La Jolla Art and Wine Festival is hosting a variety of authors who will discuss and sign their books during the two-day arts festival. The fundraiser, originally created by the Friends of La Jolla Elementary, Inc. supports local education, and last year’s inaugural festival featured over 100 fine artists, drew nearly 20,000 attendees and returned nearly $40,000 to area schools.

One of this year’s participants includes 24-year San Diego resident and local artist, art teacher, author and cookie baker, Michelle Abrams along with her designer husband, Glenn, who co-authored and published the “Kids-Did-It! Cookie Bookie” cookbook featuring cookie recipes deliciously illustrated with playful watercolors from their Kids-Did-It! Designs® kids’ art collection.

“Each recipe was initially inspired by one of Michelle’s students’ watercolors, and then Michelle modified the recipe to complement the image – think extra crispy, cracked and crunchy Dragon Crisps, or light, fluffy and puffy Lamb Jams.

“It’s a deliciously cute cookbook, ” says Michelle, “ so besides being a collection of tasty and easy-to-follow dessert recipes, it’s a creative, fun-to-look-at celebration of kids’ imaginations!”

As an art teacher for more than 20 years, Michelle shares her contagious enthusiasm for the arts, bringing out the best from her creative young students. Their resulting images are fresh, cute, often humorous and quite inspirational – with many worthy of being called ‘fine art’ in the tradition of Matisse, Van Gogh, Picasso or Miro.

“My personal favorites are the MoonMelts,” says Michelle. “Imagine delicious, gooey marshmallow cream stuffed between two cocoa cookies floating in a colorful field of planets, moons, and stars! The whole book is so colorful and engaging, with creative illustrations and simple recipes using everyday ingredients with helpful graphics. It makes baking dessert fun for everyone - plus, it makes a great gift!”

“And even better,” says Glenn, “ each young illustrator earns a royalty, plus - and I’m not just saying this - the recipes are delicious! Just imagine Chocolate Chipmunks, Cherry Chirps, Peanut Butterflies, Monster Mish-Mashes or Peppermint Pig Puffs.”

"The Kids-Did-It! Cookie Bookie: A (fun) Cookie-Baking Cookbook for Kids, Illustrated by Kids!" is available in San Diego at Warwick’s, Great News Discount Cookware & Cooking School, The Rockpile Bookstore, Point Loma Cabrillo Drug or online at www.kidsdidit.com and www.amazon.com.

The La Jolla Art and Wine Festival takes place on Saturday and Sunday October 9th and 10th on upper Girard Avenue, between Pearl and Genter, and at the La Jolla Elementary School playground. This year will feature over 100 juried fine artists, the Green Dragon Wine and Beer Garden, Live Entertainment at the Village Stage, a Gourmet Marketplace and Geppetto’s Family Art Center. For more information and details about tickets, participating artists, performers and vendors please visit: www.lajollaartandwinefestival.com



Kids-Did-It! Properties™ - Glenn and Michelle Abrams


Kids-Did-It! Properties™, established in 1996, is a San Diego art-licensing and design studio representing a unique catalog of over 500 charming, colorful images organized in seven categories, all created by young art students, ages 3 to 14, most created under the guidance of San Diego Artist, Author and Art Instructor, Michelle Abrams.

In addition to learning the basics of art and design, each young artist represented in the Kids-Did-It! Designs® kid's art collection also earns royalties for the reproduction of their artwork. In addition to The Kids-Did-It! Cookie Bookie cookbook, licensed artwork by 93 Kids-Did-It! artists has been published under the Kids-Did-It! Designs® retail logo on a variety of merchandise including: An art education book titled Blue Cows & Happy Fruit, illustrated gift bags, prints and posters, note cards, calendars, textbooks, bank checks, etc.

To view thumbnails of the collection, or for art licensing inquiries, art catalog requests, product design or product purchase inquiries, art submission guidelines and other information please visit:
      www.kidsdidit.com



Warwick's Books, Stationery, Gifts and Office Supplies


When W.T. Warwick founded his paper goods shop in Minnesota in 1896, he sold books, writing paper, and writing instruments. Upon relocating to California in the mid-1930s, he re-established his store in downtown La Jolla. The next generation, Wynn and Louise Warwick took over in 1950, expanding and modernizing the shop, and in 1964, the third generation of Warwicks took on the mantle of ownership. Under the management of Bob and Marian Warwick the store grew in both size and prominence, undergoing two expansions and establishing loyal customers all over San Diego County. In 2001, the fourth generation stepped up to the plate. W.T. Warwick's great granddaughters, Nancy and Cathy Warwick, continue to emphasize the savvy buying of diverse products - from books to international artisan jewelry - and have undertaken the store's third renovation. After over 100 years in business, the family tradition of classic customer service and modern merchandising continue to make Warwick's an integral and historic part of a vibrant, local community.

Warwick’s • 7812 Girard Avenue, La Jolla, CA 92037 • (858) 454-0347  www.warwicks.com



For additional information, please contact

Glenn Abrams:   g a b r a m s @ k i d s d i d i t . c o m   |   +1 (619) 523-5277


Home Kids-Did-It! Designs® - Products Illustrated by Kids Kid's Art Studio Kids-Did-It! Properties™ Illustration Collection and Licensing Information Kids-Did-It! Designs® - Note Card Order Form Kids-Did-It! Press Releases Frequently Asked Questions
         

Search Kids-Did-It!
© 2005 Kids-Did-It! Properties™ All artwork protected under registered copyright: VA 1-268-108 United States Copyright Office Library of Congress